N0. 1 Blog for Literary Openings, Gadgets and News in Nigeria

Literary Openings, Gadgets and News in Nigeria | Duketundesblog: 2015 V.S. Pritchett Memorial Prize. Deadline 22 June

Sunday, 7 June 2015

2015 V.S. Pritchett Memorial Prize. Deadline 22 June

 RSL Logo

The 17th edition of the annual VS Pritchett Memorial Prize is now open for entries. The Prize was founded by The Royal Society of Literature at the beginning of the new millennium to commemorate the centenary of one of the finest English short story writers of the 20th century – as explained on the RSL’s website:

VS-Pritchett“V.S. Pritchett (VSP), whom the New Yorker called ‘our language’s presiding man of letters’, is an inspirational figure to aspirant short story writers. His own output was prolific – throughout his long life he wrote in every literary form save poetry – and it is for his subtle, lucid, sensitive short stories that he is best remembered and admired.”
Each year, a prize of £1000 is awarded to the best unpublished short story of the year. The winning entry will also be published in Prospect online and in the RSL Review. There will also an opportunity to appear at an RSL event with established writers in autumn 2015. The judges for this year’s prize will be Philip Hensher, Adam Mars-Jones and Rose Tremain.
Entry is open to citizens of all Commonwealth countries, and costs £5. To enter, simply submit an unpublished story between 2000 and 4000 words in length by the deadline of 22 June 2015. For more information on how to submit, visit the 2015 VS Pritchett Memorial Prize’s submissions page.

For news of more opportunities from around the world, follow Commonwealth Writers on twitter (@cwwriters) and (@d_dukeTee)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for visiting DTB today, Your opinion counts, Please drop your comments, opinion and advise in the comment section. Thanks again and don't forget to bookmark us.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...